Mr. Olympia 1965-2010. History and Results

Mr. Olympia is an international bodybuilding and bodybuilding competition held under the auspices of International Federaion of BodyBuilders, IFBB (International Federation of Bodybuilders).

Competitions for bodybuilders - professionals of the international level " Mr. Olympia " are held annually, starting in 1965. Initially, tournaments were held in New York. Subsequently, the venue of the tournament has repeatedly changed. Some contests were held outside the United States. In recent years, the Mr. Olympia contest has invariably been taking place in Las Vegas.

The competition was organized by Joe Wyder. He analyzed all bodybuilding titles and realized that none of them corresponded to his vision of sports. He wanted to give great champions the opportunity to earn money and compete.

The bodybuilding star of those times, Larry Scott, won the Mr. America contest in 1963, and also won the prize for the Mr. Universe tournament. His house was full of various medals and trophies. He had nothing more to conquer, nothing to strive for.

Joe Weider sought to leave Larry Scott and other eminent champions in bodybuilding and continue the development of sports and in September 1965 held the first Mr. Olympia tournament, in which Larry Scott won twice (1965, 1966).

It is worth noting that the prize fund of the competition is not the biggest jackpot among bodybuilder competitions of this level. For example, a victory at Arnold Classic will bring significantly greater income. Most athletes do not participate in the tournament because of money.

Mr. Olympia ” is an opportunity to provide yourself with many contracts and PR, as well as to write your name in the history of world bodybuilding.

The eight-time champions of the competition are Lee Haney (1984 - 1991) and Ronnie Coleman (1998 - 2005). Arnold Schwarzenegger won 7 times (1970 - 1975, 1980). Dorian Yates was the hundredth winner 6 times (1992 - 1997). Jay Cutler is a four-time winner (2006 - 2007, 2009 - 2010). Sergio Oliva (1967 - 1969) and Frank Zane (1977 - 1979) won three times. 2 times the title " Mr. Olympia " was awarded to Larry Scott (1965 - 1966) and Franco Colombo (1976, 1981). One victory on the account of Samir Bannut (1983), Chris Dickerson (1982) and Dexter Jackson (2008).

Currently, Mr. Olympia is the most discussed and significant competition for the world of bodybuilding. The winner of the competition is recognized as the strongest athlete on the planet, even if he did not take part in any other tournament throughout the year.

Video “Winners 1965-2017 Mr. Olympia”